Zur Sprachwahl
Zur Metanavigation
Zur Sucheingabe
Zur den Bannertabs
Zur Hauptnavigation
Zum Inhalt

Please fill in your Information. Fields marked with * are mandatory.

remember me
my profile
Header Mobile Header
    Press release from 2/25/11 | Leipziger Buchmesse

    The best books of spring 2011:

    15 nominations for the Leipzig Book Fair Prize

    This year, 131 publishing companies submitted 480 titles which are due for publication by the time of the Leipzig Book Fair 2011. The panel of seven critics nominated five authors or translators for the Leipzig Book Fair Prize 2011 in each of the categories Fiction, Non-Fiction/Essays and Translation.

    Category Fiction:

    Anna Katharina Fröhlich: “Kream Korner“ (Berlin Verlag)

    Arno Geiger: “Der alte König in seinem Exil“ (Carl Hanser Verlag)

    Wolfgang Herrndorf: “Tschick“ (Rowohlt Berlin Verlag)

    Clemens J. Setz: “Die Liebe zur Zeit des Mahlstädter Kindes“ (Suhrkamp Verlag)

    Peter Stamm: “Seerücken“ (S. Fischer Verlag)

    Category Non-Fiction/Essays:

    Patrick Bahners: “Die Panikmacher. Die deutsche Angst vor dem Islam. Eine Streitschrift“ (C.H. Beck)

    Andrea Böhm: “Gott und die Krokodile. Eine Reise durch den Kongo“ (Pantheon Verlag)

    Karen Duve: “Anständig essen. Ein Selbstversuch“ (Galiani Verlag Berlin)

    Marie Luise Knott: “Verlernen. Denkwege bei Hannah Arendt“ (Matthes und Seitz Berlin)

    Henning Ritter: “Notizhefte“ (Berlin Verlag)

    Category Translation:

    Barbara Conrad: “Krieg und Frieden“, from the Russian by Leo Tolstoy, new translation and commentary (Carl Hanser Verlag)

    Ralph Dutli: “Fatrasien. Absurde Poesie des Mittelalters“, from the Old French, author anonymous (Wallstein Verlag)

    Maralde Meyer-Minnemann: “Mein Name ist Legion“, from the Portuguese by António Lobo Antunes (Luchterhand Verlag)

    Terézia Mora: “Ein Produktionsroman (zwei Produktionsromane)“ from the Hungarian by Péter Esterházy (Berlin Verlag)

    Dagmar Ploetz: “Unter dieser furchterregenden Sonne“, from the Argentinian Spanish by Carlos Busqued (Antje Kunstmann Verlag)

    Prize presentation at the Leipzig Book Fair and sample audio extracts on the internet

    The public prize presentation is being held at 16.00 hours on Thursday, 17 March 2011 in the Glass Hall at the Leipzig Book Fair. Audio impressions are available online at www.literaturport.de. All the nominated titles are introduced here with sample extracts to listen to.

    Radio broadcasters in conversation with the fiction favourites

    Radio broadcasters Mitteldeutsche Rundfunk (MDR Figaro), Bayrische Rundfunk (BR2), Südwestrundfunk (SWR2) and Deutschlandradio Kultur introduce the nominees in the fiction category at public events that will be broadcast on radio. At 16.00 hours on 13 February, Clemens J. Setz is MDR Figaro's guest in the programme's Lese-Café. Two weeks later, on 27 February, presenter Michael Hametner introduces the author Peter Stamm, with the MDR broadcasting live from Leipzig's Moritzbastei (Universitätsstrasse 9).The event is open to the public.

    The nominees in the fiction category introduce themselves at Munich's Literaturhaus (Salvatorplatz 1) on 2 March, hosted by presenters Gerwig Epkes (SWR2) and Cornelia Zetzsche (BR2). The event begins at 19.30 hours.

    On 3 March, the nominees in the category Non-Fiction/Essays are at the Free State of Saxony's office in Berlin. With Renè Aguigah as the presenter, Deutschlandradio Kultur is broadcasting the event on 6 March in its programme “Werkstatt”.

    About the Leipzig Book Fair Prize

    The Leipzig Book Fair Prize is being awarded in 2011 for what is now the seventh time. It is given in recognition of outstanding new German-language publications and translations, with prize money totalling 45,000 euros. The Free State of Saxony and Leipzig City support the Leipzig Book Fair Prize, with the Berlin Literary Colloquium (LCB) as a partner, and the weekly DIE ZEIT and the magazine buchjournal as media partners.

    The panel of judges is chaired by the journalist Verena Auffermann, working together with Johanna Adorján (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung), Dr. Jens Bisky (Süddeutsche Zeitung), Dr. Martin Ebel (Tages-Anzeiger, Zürich), Dr. Eberhard Falcke (freelance literary critic), Dr. Ingeborg Harms (freelance literary critic) and Dr. Adam Soboczynski (ZEIT).

    Online voting for literary enthusiasts

    Book fans are invited to choose their favourite author in the fiction category. Online voting is available on the Leipzig Book Fair Prize website

    (www.preis-der-leipziger-buchmesse.de). From 10 February to 7 March, visitors to the website (as well as visitors to the partner websites börsenblatt, Frankfurter Rundschau, Leipziger Internet Zeitung (L-IZ.de) and Literaturport) can vote for their favourites to win the prize. All those taking part will be entered in a draw and one of them will win a package prize containing all the books nominated in the fiction category as well as tickets for the prize presentation.

    Press Contact

    PR Manager
    Ms Nancy Pfaff
    Phone: +49 341 678 65 54
    Fax: +49 341 678 65 12
    E-Mail: n.pfaff@leipziger-messe.de


    LBMPrizeNominations.rtf (RTF, 97.38 kB)button image


    Imprint| Data protection| Leipziger Messe GmbH, Messe-Allee 1, 04356 Leipzig © Leipziger Messe 2020. All rights reserved.